NBA confirms missed call late in Game 7

On the day after games, the NBA produces the “Last Two Minute Report.” They began doing it last season for all games within five points at the two-minute mark.

Monday’s report confirmed what viewers of the Pacers and Raptors Game 7 meeting all observed: Raptors guard DeMar DeRozan shoved Ian Mahinmi under the basket and should have been called a foul.

The incident occurred with 16.6 seconds left as the Pacers trailed by only three, 87-84. Paul George drove the ball and he saw Mahinmi open at the rim so he lobbed up an alley-oop pass. Mahinmi never had a chance to get it because DeRozan forcefully cleared him out of the way.

Mahinmi fought hard all series. [Frank McGrath/PS&E]

Mahinmi fought hard all series. [Frank McGrath/PS&E]

Instead of a whistle, DeRozan got the steal and took the ball up the floor, and then was put on the line for two free throws that put the game away.

Officially, the report ruled it an “INC” or Incorrect Non-Call: DeRozan (TOR) makes body contact with Mahinmi (IND), dislodging him and affecting his ability to catch the alley-oop pass.

There were 20 line items and 16 were either “Correct Call” or “Correct Non-Call” … but this is one that Pacers fans will remember.

The three officials — Danny Crawford, Ron Garretson, and Bill Spooner — clearly missed this call but it wasn’t what cost the Pacers the game. They were held to 84 points in a decisive Game 7. They needed a 17-4 run to make it a one-possession game again, and then the Raptors held on.

[Pacers season ends in Toronto, Paul George says ‘I learned what I was made of‘]

The telling statistic in this one: The Raptors converted 18 offensive rebounds into 17 points whereas the Pacers pulled down five offensive boards leading to three points.

This was at least the four Pacers game that immediately comes to mind where the end of a game was called wrong. Remember Pacers losses during the regular season at Chicago (twice) and at Miami?

UPDATE: May 3 – 1:03 pm ET

The NBA announced on Tuesday that Raptors center Bismack Biyombo has been assessed a Flagrant-2 foul for a hit around the neck and head area of Pacers’ Myles Turner at the 11:18 mark of the fourth quarter. If called during the game, Biyombo, who was on the floor for 5:52 of the final quarter, would have been ejected.

There are no comments yet. Be the first and leave a response!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

Trackback URL http://vigilantsports.com/nba-confirms-missed-call-late-in-game-7/trackback/